What are The 5 Love Languages?

The 5 love languages are a way of understanding how we each “speak” and understand emotional love. There are five core elements of emotional love that all people need to feel loved. The five languages are: Words of Affirmation, Physical Touch, Quality Time, Gifts, and Acts of Service.

The 5 Love Languages represent the different ways in which people give and receive love. These languages are not just about romantic love; they also apply to family members, friends, and our relationships with co-workers. When each person in a relationship is committed to learning the primary love language of the other person, it creates a pathway for genuine expression of feeling and a deeper understanding of the things that matter most to each other. The Five Love Languages can help you express your true feelings for each other and understand why you feel the way you do. They can help you learn how to approach one another so that one person's need for love is met at the deepest level by another.

Love Language #1 - Words of Affirmation

People whose primary language is Words of Affirmation feel most loved when someone verbally affirms them. They express their love through kind words, encouraging words, words that express gratitude or appreciation (to someone who has recently done something nice), or words that encourage dreaming or planning for the future. They want to hear "I'm pleased with the way you did this" or "I'm grateful for all your help." They don't need expensive gifts--in fact they probably would prefer a sincere compliment or an encouraging note over buying them something they don't really need!

Love Language #2 - Quality Time

People whose primary language is Quality Time feel most loved when someone gives their full, undivided attention without distractions. They express their love through having fun with someone (just being together), spending time together doing things they both enjoy (doing things together), giving undivided attention (not allowing TV's or phones to interrupt), or taking time to listen without judging what is being said. They want their partner's undivided attention - not just giving advice while performing other tasks at the same time! Love

Language #3 - Gifts

People whose primary language is Gifts feel most loved when someone gives them a thoughtful gift. They express their love through giving gifts. It doesn't matter how big the gift is or how much it costs, but that it came from the heart and was given with genuine thoughtfulness and affection for the other person. Gifts can be given for special occasions such as anniversaries, birthdays, Christmas or other holidays, or just to show gratitude for something special. They want to give you a meaningful gift that you will enjoy!

Love Language #4 - Acts of Service

People whose primary language is Acts of Service feel most loved when someone does things for them. They express their love by doing things for others and they want to see people doing things for them! They are willing to "work hard" at a relationship and they express their love by doing things that they think will be helpful to the other person. Acts of service can range from helping with dishes or laundry, to making a meal, to running errands, to more involved projects like remodeling a bathroom or building an addition onto the house. Acts of service are not limited to typical "household chores"; they can include helping with homework or projects at work, taking care of the kids while Mom runs errands, or getting involved in some aspect of another person's life that they need help with. They want you to do something nice for them!

Love Language #5 - Physical Touch

People whose primary language is Physical Touch feel most loved when someone touches them in a loving way. They express their love through physical affection like hugs, holding hands, brief kisses (not just on the lips), pats on the shoulder, or sitting close together on the couch at night watching TV. Physical touch doesn't have to take up a lot of time; it's quality time that matters! A quick hug when you come through the door says "I love you" more than hours spent watching TV together but no one touches each other during that time. Physical touch is not only about sex - it is about connecting on an emotional level as well and letting your partner know by your actions (not just your words) how much you care about him/her. They want you to express your love physically!

92 views0 comments